I Have a Dream?

by kathleenljackson

What is now referred to as the “I Have A Dream” speech by Martin Luther King Jr. was first spoken to an audience on this day (8/28) 50 years ago. It is widely recognized as “one of the greatest speeches of all time” and while I am, personally, not prepared to dispute this (or research it with any depth), I do wonder when and who decided this…

I went to the 50th Anniversary of the March on Washington this past weekend (8/24) and I was not struck for a single moment that I was experiencing a “greatest speech/ historical” moment. Did the audience at the original March on Washington know they were witnessing a great historical moment? Does anyone ever know they are? Or is it only when we long back on something that we recognize its greatness?

