Two new terms…

by kathleenljackson

As you may remember, dear readers, I was becoming increasingly frustrated by the lack of consistent terminology in my field. Well, here are two more for my growing list:

Mauve Decade – The ‘mauve decade’ refers to the 1890s. Apparently this was because a scientist accidentally created mauve and quickly became a favorite shade in fashion. I don’t know. It seems so benign and passive to me (unless you are a Doctor Who fan, in which case it is quite apt). I think I’ll stick with the ‘Gilded Age’, despite its lengthy time frame…

Racial Crossing – Another term for racial passing and a favorite among 1920s sociologists. In hindsight this one was a bit obvious but I still need to revisit all the databases in search of it.

In other news, I have just read a fabulous analysis of Iola Leroy and Frances Harper’s take on racial passing. More to come…

